h1

Exhalation & Elation

November 5, 2008

Strange day for a lifelong cynic. I’ve had a lot on my plate recently and very little time to immerse myself in the U.S. presidential election as much as I would have liked. Instead, I just watched what I could on the BBC world news with increasing impatience and niggling pessimism. I really wanted Obama to win but refused to get complacent with the polling data even up to last night.  I was more than prepared for the decrepit McCain and his fuckwit sidekick, the Wasilla Whackjob, to snatch a last-minute victory because I guess I just didn’t have that much faith in people.

Feels good to be proven wrong. Strangely good. I’m puzzling over my own sense of elation today. Watching those votes come in this morning I actually started feeling good about the result of a U.S. presidential election for the first time in my adult life. Wherefore art thou, cynicism?

All that is left is for me to congratulate Senator Barack Obama on his successful election as the 44th President of the United States of America.

Congratulations!

 

Leave a Reply

