h1

Anticipating the Centipede

May 14, 2010

I think it was my friend Josh who first sent me a link to the tantalizing foulness of The Human Centipede (First Sequence), but I can’t be sure. He’s a diabolical sumbitch and I would expect nothing less than for him to have gleefully despoiled my subconscious with the terrible promises of this film after having done the same to his own. That said, I may have stumbled it by other means.

This delightful poster (which gives quite a bit away) was brought to my attention by my friend James. It’s from the online store Mondo.

At any rate, once I was introduced to mere reviews of this new horror flick, it got under my skin like the burrowing larva of some fiendish parasite and it has resided there ever since; worming its way to my back-brain and chilling the blood as it goes. Reading up on the premise and execution of the story recently provoked genuine feelings of disgust and left me quite unsettled. At the same time, however, I maintain a certain pride in my transgressive tastes and so I began to convince myself that it was my duty to watch this film, to man the fuck up and square off against it. On a recent weekend trip I mischievously opted to share the viral, puke-on-your-soul effect of telling other people about it and seem to have succeeded in ruining their day with the disturbing details. A few of them are now as similarly haunted as me, though they do not share my sense of personal obligation of having to watch the film to see how bad it really is. Sounds like they’re happy to just leave it alone.*

I’m going to leave it up to you folks to research this film on your own if you haven’t already heard anything about it. Here are two reviews – from Devin Faraci (CHUD) and Roger Ebert, respectively. Needless to say, I haven’t felt this kind of thrill and anticipation for a film in a long time, not because I think it’s going to be amazing, but precisely because I don’t know if I’ll be able to handle it. That’s the challenge that true horror films are supposed to put in front of you and I couldn’t be more pleased to be all a-quiver before the looming threat of The Human Centipede.

*(SLIGHT SPOILER – I actually suggested to these good people that we should all get together for a Human Centipede party but this caused an unfortunate misunderstanding with my wife who thought I was calling for us all to get together and crawl around with our mouths attached to each other’s arseholes, when I was merely suggesting we watch the film in a group.)

4 comments

  1. That poster is too fucking cool. I may buy it, then store it in cardboard tube somewhere.

    Man… good luck. It was nice knowing you. I look forward to/dread your review.

    The challenge implied by this movie’s existence is hard not to respond to, as a fellow horror fan, but long ago, after enduring a string of movie’s like Salo and Cannibal Holocaust and Hostel 2, I vowed to turn my back on the ones that went out of their way to disturb me.

    The bar is set ever higher with each one of these types of films that comes out. I can’t imagine the film that will come along and set the bar higher than The Human Centipede.

    You’re the Indiana Jones of horror fanatics.

    And I sent you a message, but it was James who spread this foulness. I tried to protect you all, but he had more devious intentions…


  2. C’mon man, get back in the saddle.

    I don’t really think of myself as a horror fanatic because I have little time for so much of what is produced in that genre. Then again, I liked the Hostel films, loved Antichrist and have an appreciation for classics like The Exorcist, The Shining, etc.

    I guess I don’t dig slasher flicks, that’s the problem. For some reason I wasn’t even into the original Halloween (might check it out again) when I seen it as a teenager but I love Carpenter’s The Thing and Escape From New York.


  3. haha. “Indiana Jones of horror fanatics…” well put. I would say David’s photo album of road kill is evidence of an unusual penchant for gore.


  4. So, despite reassurances from both myself and my wife that this film is not that bad, our friends here in Korea still refuse to watch it. I know my word doesn’t count for shit there (because they’ve told me to my face that they suspect I’m a perverse deviant) but I really thought Kim could talk them round.



Leave a Reply

