h1

K-Pop Korner: Masa’s Mash

June 30, 2010

Damn, it’s been a lazy few weeks of summer and there’s been nothing much to throw up here. Things have been so quiet that I almost missed the monthly trip down to the Korner. Truth be told, there isn’t much in the K-Pop world that has piqued my interest of late, barely anything I can wring a quip out of, let alone spin into a lighthearted passage of commentary on Korean pop music. Hell, if I didn’t have a throwaway K-Pop measure just sitting there for emergencies during days precisely like this then I may just have failed completely to provide a post this month.

Masa is a 21-year-old guy from Brazil who started mashing up Korean pop songs a few years ago. His mixes appear to have become fairly popular amongst K-Pop fans and a variety of his mash-up songs can be found on Youtube and his own site, Masa Mixes. I stumbled across one of his videos a few months ago and used it in the classroom as a little treat for my students. It’s a mix of ten hit songs from Korean girl bands in 2009 that he compiled as a tribute to the K-Pop of that year. Tragically, I was able to recognize most of the performers and songs when I first watched it (a frightening 7 out of 10), so it is quite an apt measurement of where this initially ironic exploration of K-Pop has taken me.

K-Pop Girl Power

Frankly, I think the cocktail of tunes above sounds better than any of the individual songs involved. The success of it seems to hinge on the use of the instrumental dance track underpinning the whole thing, “Patron Tequila”. For all you K-Pop neophytes out there, burning with curiosity after viewing the above, I will provide a full list of the tracks used.

Tracklist:
2NE1 – FIRE
2NE1 – I Don’t Care
4Minute – Hot Issue
After School – Amoled (feat. Son Dambi)
Brown Eyed Girls – Abracadabra
Jewelry – Vari2ty
KARA – Mister
KARA – Wanna
So Nyeo Shi Dae – Genie (Tell Me Your Wish)
T-ara – Lies

vs. Girls Paradiso – Patron Tequila (Instrumental)


Leave a Reply

